Lab Members

Graduate Students:


PrakashPrakash Sah is a PhD student and joined the lab in the Fall of 2015.  His research focuses on understanding host-pathogen interactions of Chlamydia trachomatis.  Specifically he is looking at identify host factors that interact with Chlamydial effector proteins and inclusion membrane proteins.  Prakash received an Otto S. Cox Fellowship for Genetics Research in 2017!








Deepali Luthra 2Deepali Luthra is a PhD student who joined the lab in teh Fall of 2017.  Deepali's project is focusing on the host-pathogen interactions of Pseudomonas aeruginosa with the host cell in conditions varying Calcium and other host factors. 






 Undergraduate Students: 

William (Colby) Starr is a Niblack Research Scholar, OSU Goldwater nominee and OK-LSAMP scholar.  Colby joined the Lutter lab in the summer of 2016.  He is studying the antimicrobial resistance patterns of Pseudomonas aeruginosa from Cystic Fibrosis patients here in Oklahoma to clinically relevant antibiotics. See a video of Colby's research!  Colby was a Goldwater Insitutional Nominee for OSU in 2017 and recieved Honorable Mention!





Nick Nelson website 2Nick Nelson is an undergraduate research scholar and joined the lab in the Fall of 2016.  Nick's project focuses on developing new genetic mutants of Chlamydia trachomatis using novel genetic tools.  In the spring of 2017 Nick recieved a summer internship with Allosource!





SavannaWaddle3Savanna Waddle is an undergraduate workstudy and OK-LSAMP Scholar who helps keep our lab running by staying on top of lab chores and keeping our lab presentable!  She is also conducting research on biofilms and the effects of antibiotics on biofilm systems.





Colleen La Force is an undergraduate student who joined the lab in the summer of 2017. Her project focuses on cloning and tagging Chlamydial genes that will be used to identify and verify host cell interactions.


Emily GEmily Geitzen is an undergraduate Niblack Research Scholar and OSU Goldwater nominee who joined the lab in the Fall of 2017.  Her project focuses on generating site-directed Chlamydial mutants that will be used to determine the role of specific inclusion membrane proteins in pathogenesis.






Kaylea Bixler is Freshman Research Scholar in her first year here at OSU!  Her project focuses on examining examining the various antibiotic resistance profiles of various pathogens of Cystic Fibrosis patients! She officially joined the lab in the Spring of 2018.

Lutter Lab Alumni

  • Christopher Laley
  • Ashley Means
  • Chloe Backhaus
  • Dillon Jones
  • Anna Wright
  • Elizabeth Pascual, MSc
  • Link Zheng
  • Brooke Romine
  • Wade Arthur
  • Matt Smith
  • Rachel Mcallister
  • Amanda Behar, MSc
  • Rawan Eleshy, MSc
  • Jordan Fleming